Posted by: dougery | January 4, 2011

ten into eleven

having a hard time falling asleep tonight so please do excuse the punch-drunk (insomnia-drunk?) quality of the following post. I’ve been meaning to do a sort of year’s end reminiscence dealie and if I wait any longer it’ll be March and that’d just be downright extemporaneous. So here is a random list of crap that you may or may not agree with or care nothing about whatsoever in which case, well, sorry?

Favorite albums of 2010: Titus Andronicus the Monitor, Fang Island Fang Island, Girl Talk All Day, Tallest Man on Earth The Wild Hunt

In 2010 I moved from Chicago, a city of 9,785,747 people (as of the 2010 census) to New Ashford a town of 247.

The Cleveland Indians and Buffalo Bills continue to be shamefully bad.

I gave up a job I loved in books and imagined I would be unemployed for some time. Then I found another job in books.

Favorite books (not necessarily published in but) read in 2010: Every Man Dies Alone by Hans Fallada, The Hunter by Richard Stark, Middlemarch by George Eliot, Remainder by Tom McCarthy, Brooklyn by Colm Toibin.

In 2010 I spent more sundays at Kopi Cafe than anywhere else.

L and I drove quite a bit this past year. Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Connecticut, Vermont, Massachussetts.

I saw my first moose.

We found our three-bedroom farmhouse.

I ‘won’ NaNoWriMo.

I found out my earliest American ancestors were from Virginia which makes me kind of a southerner?

I spent too much time on Facebook, just the right amount on Twitter, and not enough on WordPress.

Although it is nice to be closer to family I miss my Chicago friends a great deal.

Favorite films (not necessarily released in but) watched in 2010: From Russia With Love, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Eastern Promises, Alice, Inception.

On the whole 2010 was a very tumultuous year. ’11 promises more of the same.

Responses

  1. i was waiting for your listicles… and appreciate your effort to become southern.


Leave a Reply

Categories

finding jackie

celebrity, biography, feminism, feelings

DELAWHERE COMICS

the greatest comic strip on earth... literally

taken by sound.

New music reviews and interviews from a music nerd, finding, reviewing and interviewing the best new and undiscovered music that Earth has to offer.

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Atalkata

Two brothers expatiate [wander intellectually without restraint]

Me Blog Write Good

An episode-by-episode retrospective of a truly cromulent show

Raging Biblio-holism

The overwhelming urge to collect, consume, and consider books

Austin H. Gilkeson

Fiction, Nonfiction & Things That Go Bump in the Night

douglas e riggs

reflections from a house on fire

