Posted by: dougery | January 15, 2011

The Internet is a Strange Place: Casefile #517

Yeah, that’s right. The internet is a strange place. Often times it is creepy as all get out. Once and a while a Macfarlane-esque banal. Yet mostly really really really strange. But you already knew that.

Strangeness in itself isn’t a bad thing. If it’s not strange/offputting it is often strange/remarkable. Sometimes it’s both. Exhibit #517:

The first time I watched this relatively short youtube video I was all like, “That was strange.” However it stuck with me. Something about the “song” (if you can call it that) coiled around a region of my brain and refused to depart as most innocuous things one encounters every day tend to do almost immediately. Later that day, every so often I would find myself humming the “refrain” (specifically about 56 seconds in), at this point not really even remembering what on earth it was. The next day I woke up and there it was again. As if the oddness of the remixed and editted visual image of the girl was dream-like enough to survive a night’s rest and come out the other side stronger and more compelling than before.

I watched it again.

I made L watch it too (jury’s still out on what she thought of it).

I’m not sure what else to say. It’s beguiling (to me). I want it as a ring tone. I want to have a daughter solely for the purpose of filming some silly song/scream she does and then slice it up into some avant-garde music video masterpiece (relax L, I’m mostly kidding). I want to hack into one of those huge LCD screens in Time Square or wherever and play this on a never ending loop. But most of all I want to know why I find it so mesmerizing.

Watching: Community, S1

Responses

  1. That is NOT a good reason to spawn.


Leave a Reply

Categories

finding jackie

celebrity, biography, feminism, feelings

DELAWHERE COMICS

the greatest comic strip on earth... literally

taken by sound.

New music reviews and interviews from a music nerd, finding, reviewing and interviewing the best new and undiscovered music that Earth has to offer.

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Atalkata

Two brothers expatiate [wander intellectually without restraint]

Me Blog Write Good

An episode-by-episode retrospective of a truly cromulent show

Raging Biblio-holism

The overwhelming urge to collect, consume, and consider books

Austin H. Gilkeson

Fiction, Nonfiction & Things That Go Bump in the Night

douglas e riggs

reflections from a house on fire

