Posted by: dougery | May 25, 2011

The White Rascal and The Kinda Blue

The best part of going to a bar with over 300 kinds of beer is that you are going to a bar with over 300 kinds of beer. The Old Forge has a list of 12 to 15 beers on tap that would put most places list of bottle offerings to shame. And its always refreshing when I have to ask a waitress “uh, what kind of beer is that?”

Last night L and I met a few of her work colleagues for dinner and drinks. Well, that was the intention anyhow. When her colleague T was asked for ID there was a pause. There was something wrong. Something in the offing. Not with T’s order, she had no problem with her beer whose name I can’t remember because I’d never heard of it before. yet when L’s turn to order came around and she handed over her ID the waitress was apologetic but firm. “Your ID has expired, I can’t serve you.” This despite the fact that L just turned 30. And don’t get me wrong, she has always looked young for her age, but under 21? Really? Her face just sank she reluctantly ordered a diet coke.

She did sneak sips of the two beers I had last night (hot wings are thirsty work). The first was marked a wheat beer in the menu but I should have known by the name White Rascal (from Avery brewing) that it was a Belgian style white, a pretty good one, but nothing to clamor over. The other beer I tried was one they’d never had on tap before, a fruit beer that the waitress said didn’t have an overpowering fruity taste. So I was thinking the Kinda Blue (Boulder Brewing Company) would taste as much like blueberries as Magic Hat Wacko tastes of beets. I was correct, more or less. Not a dud, but nothing special either.

The photos I’ve included here show bottles, but they are just for show as the tavern had both on tap.

3 down, 47 to go until I get my pewter mug.

Responses

  1. Good to know that when I turned 30 my face sank. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

finding jackie

celebrity, biography, feminism, feelings

DELAWHERE COMICS

the greatest comic strip on earth... literally

taken by sound.

New music reviews and interviews from a music nerd, finding, reviewing and interviewing the best new and undiscovered music that Earth has to offer.

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Atalkata

Two brothers expatiate [wander intellectually without restraint]

Me Blog Write Good

An episode-by-episode retrospective of a truly cromulent show

Raging Biblio-holism

The overwhelming urge to collect, consume, and consider books

Austin H. Gilkeson

Fiction, Nonfiction & Things That Go Bump in the Night

douglas e riggs

reflections from a house on fire

