Posted by: dougery | September 9, 2011

The Only Words I Know Are More, More and More

Music generally gets the short end of the word stick on this here blog, which is kinda strange since if given the Sophie’s Choice of losing Music or TV, I’d kill the fucking TV dead. And yet I write a lot more about movies and tv shows than I do Music. Maybe this is because it is much much much harder to describe Music in any meaningful way that a) does the music justice b) doesn’t resort to verbose metaphors, word salad, and general pomposity and c) gives a person an idea of what the hell you’re talking about. That and it’s easier, at least for me, to write about stuff I can see than it is stuff I can ‘merely’ hear.

With all these caveats and emptors aside, I just popped in the Jeep to run to the Post Office, one of the few times I have any more to listen to CDs. I know what you’re saying, “CDs! How Quaint!” And yes, they are. I haven’t bought a CD in years and for good reason. I can’t cram one in my iPod and they sound shitty on my record player. Yes, I have a record player. Mostly because of all the super cool cred it gives me with all of the 4 people in my neck of the woods that enjoy the same music I do. I’m totally making the scene. Blowing it up big, or something.

Good lord I’m rambling. The point of all this was that while driving I fumbled through my CD case and saw a bright pink slice of awesome. And ‘old’ Le Tigre CD! It took me all of 20 seconds to think to myself “Holy shit how had I not listened to these gals in so long.” In a criminal justice system of my own invention I’d’ve been convicted for severe negligence and sentenced to 30 years in a siberian Dave Matthew’s Band camp.

Le Tigre combines just about every single thing I enjoy most in modern rock music. There’s the bleepy bloop stuff that wasn’t yet very prominent back when S/T first dropped. I can easily trace my affection for the poppier and punkier elements of say, the crystal castles to the digital glitches of Le Tigre. But unlike all of the indie electronica stuff that dominates my recent purchases, there are all kinds of crunchy, angry guitars here. I mean, not the big swathes of work from say, Siamese Dream (I know Corgan is an asshat but that album is still cool. Haters gon hate) but enough to remind me why I loved early Smashing Pumpkins in the first place.To say nothing of more ‘legitimate’ punk rock.

Oh, and I haven’t even brought up the vox. There are few weapons in modern music more wonderfully potent than Kathleen Hanna and all of her many many disciples. Her voice can be all cooey and sweet. It can be growly. It can be shrill. It has never once been ugly no matter how hard she would like it to be. It also helps she is one of the coolest people to have ever lived. If there is such a thing as reincarnation, I’d want to come back as her, twice.

Le Tigre S/T came out a dozen years ago next month. How the fuck is that even possible? I can say without hesitation that it still sounds streets ahead of anything you’ll hear released this year or the next. If you don’t own it or haven’t stolen it I will now control the urge to visit your home in the middle of the night and whisper the words to “Deceptacon” over and over into your ear until yours dreams become a melange of kickass robots and phantoms holding a dance party on the subway of your brainpan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

finding jackie

celebrity, biography, feminism, feelings

DELAWHERE COMICS

the greatest comic strip on earth... literally

taken by sound.

New music reviews and interviews from a music nerd, finding, reviewing and interviewing the best new and undiscovered music that Earth has to offer.

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Atalkata

Two brothers expatiate [wander intellectually without restraint]

Me Blog Write Good

An episode-by-episode retrospective of a truly cromulent show

Raging Biblio-holism

The overwhelming urge to collect, consume, and consider books

Austin H. Gilkeson

Fiction, Nonfiction & Things That Go Bump in the Night

douglas e riggs

reflections from a house on fire

