Posted by: dougery | May 9, 2012

Dead Space

So, like, I’ve moved. Or rather, we’ve moved, my wife and I have, to Boston. As you might expect this has involved a whole lot of me not writing, thus the dearth (yeah, I went there, I went with dearth) of posts here at the ole doug laser iggs dot com. My form and genre submissions of late have been non-existent. I’ve watched a single western [Pale Rider (1985)] and that review should be soonishly forthcoming. A total blackhole void on the pop music listening-to front although I have to assume that pop songs are still being aired on radio stations I’ve yet to familiarize myself with.

Some trivia for my fan(s):

First movie shown in the new apartment: Drunken Master (1978)
First album played: Visiter by the Dodos (2008)
First meal: Redbones BBQ (with my bro and his woms)
First game beaten: The Legend of Zelda (NES 1987)
First comic read: The Manhattan Projects #1 (2012) by Jonathan Hickman & Nick Pitarra

I have also learned that L and I have distinctly different ways of building a sense of home and perhaps atypical ones, gender-wise (although I’ll let the sociologists and those who know L and I best be the judge on that last count). I root down and nest. I want to unpack and arrange everything and listen and read and watch all my comfort media, paint on the walls of my cave, etc until the new apartment feels like mine. L wants to go out and savage the surrounding neighborhood, ransacking its stores and getting to know ‘the general area.’ Is this normal? I dunno.

More to come…

 

Reading: Jernigan

Responses

  1. I gotta say that I’m much more the get-the-lay-of-the-land type. Unpacking is to be done quickly without much fuss.


Leave a Reply

Categories

finding jackie

celebrity, biography, feminism, feelings

DELAWHERE COMICS

the greatest comic strip on earth... literally

taken by sound.

New music reviews and interviews from a music nerd, finding, reviewing and interviewing the best new and undiscovered music that Earth has to offer.

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Atalkata

Two brothers expatiate [wander intellectually without restraint]

Me Blog Write Good

An episode-by-episode retrospective of a truly cromulent show

Raging Biblio-holism

The overwhelming urge to collect, consume, and consider books

Austin H. Gilkeson

Fiction, Nonfiction & Things That Go Bump in the Night

douglas e riggs

reflections from a house on fire

